Matrix Element S

Hello all,
I figured I would create a new post. I recently posted in the ever solo conversation but realized it was not the right place.
I purchased a Matrix Element S for the i2s out. I own the Ifi zen as well a node2. I couldn’t get my Matrix to work with my Venus2’s i2s input, so purchased an Iris DDC. I now have the usb out of the Matrix into the iris, and the i2s out to the Venus. With only 20hrs burn in on the Iris, the sound is absolutely massive in all directions. I would really like to know how the streaming feature compares to the Ever Solo? The Matrix is currently waiting for Roon certification as well.

Regards
Jeff

1 Like

Congrats on the new gear and setup! I’ve had some experience with both the Matrix Element S and the Ever Solo. While the Matrix is waiting on its Roon certification, I’ve found it to offer solid audio quality and versatility, especially with the i2s out. The Ever Solo also has excellent streaming capabilities; however, the two are different beasts.

In terms of sound quality, the Matrix with an Iris DDC can potentially give you an edge, especially if you’re going all out with a high-quality DAC like your Venus2. The i2s connection generally provides a cleaner and more expansive soundstage, as you’ve noted.

Streaming-wise, Ever Solo is more of a “plug-and-play,” and its interface is user-friendly. But once Matrix gets Roon-certified, you’d likely enjoy the added flexibility and ecosystem that Roon provides, especially if you’re already in that environment.

So, to directly answer your question: If you’re looking for a more customizable experience and potentially higher sound quality, stick with the Matrix. If you want something that’s easy to set up and reliable out of the box, then Ever Solo is excellent.

2 Likes