P10 bad THD OUT

Hello all,

I bought a used supposedly fully functional P10.

After I connected the P10, I unfortunately found that it has a THD OUT
of 1.3% with a THD IN of 1.6%.

The sine wave at the output shows flattened peaks and the falling edge
shows slight distortion.

Resetting the settings, or changing the phase does not change the behavior.

For comparison, I also have a P5. This one works fine. Delivers a THD OUT
of about 0.2% and shows a clean sine wave at the output.

As read in similar threads here on the forum, the regenerator boards
from the P10 will be broken.

I live in Germany, so shipping from the P10 is very expensive and time consuming.

By profession I am an electronics engineer and used to working with
circuit boards. Therefore the question, is it possible to buy the
regenerator boards at PS Audio and exchange them in the P10 itself ?

Visually, the P10 looks absolutely new and it would be a great
pity if I could not use it.

Attached are pictures showing the signals from the P10.

Many greetings,
Dirk

I have two P10s. One needs new regen boards (there are two boards). The bad one can’t maintain voltage out (e.g. 237 in, 215 out), and distortion in of 3.0 could say distortion out of 3.4. Like you, I hope the regen boards are still available.

Do you know if changing the regeneration boards is relatively easy ?

I wrote an email to ps audio a few days ago, hope they answer soon.

I suspect that support are overwhelmed with support requests and once they see it’s a 230V version, so not native, they expect the local distributor to suppy support. Sometimes I get excellent support, other times silence.

Edit - sorry I didn’t answer your question. I don’t know how easy it is to change the regen boards, but it can’t be rocket science - just don’t get a belt from the capacitors! Also, be careful of anything that might fall into the unit when the lid is removed.

EDIT - here’s a pic of the boards - the long edges are about 20cms (8")