PWT does not stop spinning when stop is pushed

Greetings. i am new at this, but have a question. i have a two month old PWT and noticed that when i hit the stop button, the unit continues to make a whirring noise for about 20 more minutes. The music stops of course but it sounds like the disc is continuing to spin for the next 20 minutes or so. I do not recall hearing this when i first got the unit but maybe it has done this all along. I was wondering if others with the PWT experienced this.

thanks. Kent

Any chance you might be hitting the pause button inadvertently?

no but good call. i hit stop from the remote or on the unit, and it shows it has stopped, but i continue to hear the whirring sound coming from the disc tray area.

I have this issue as well,even when I push the standby button.

Welcome, pichi and kent tager!

Have you each tried turning off and unplugging the PWT to clear its memory?

Have you upgraded to the latest firmware? See, here

Thanks Elk

I checked the firmware and it was up to date(it did make me check and update my p5, that was a nudge I needed so thanks for the suggestion) I then turned off the PWT,unplugged it,plugged it back in and tried again.

No changes unfortunately

I have noticed that the duration seems to vary a bit,but to give an example I used the stopwatch on the iphone this time.

First I played the cd for about 90 seconds and then press stop…no music but still spinning for 9 mins 40 seconds.

Then play cd for 90 seconds push stop and then push PS standby button…no music,no screen but still spinning for 10 mins 5 seconds.

Not a bad thing i suppose,but a bit odd maybe? I try to remember to eject cd’s when I’m done but a lot of the time I am switching straight over to the music server out of laziness and don’t hear it.

This is odd. Unfortunately, I am otherwise idealess.