S300 amp hiss/white noise from tweeter normal?

Hello,

I’m new to the speaker world and my S300 is connected to a pair of Paradigm Persona B speakers (they’re rated 92db in sensitivity), and I can hear a very audible white noise coming from the S300 amp regardless of the volume of the Gain Cell Dac I’m using. I’m wondering

1. Is this normal
  2. Would it do any long term damage to the tweeter if I leave the S300 amp on?

I also noticed that the SONOS amp would not produce any hiss/white noise.

I owned the S300 for several years. I’m not sure what volume level of hiss you are referring, but I had a constant RF type hiss to which I devoted a lot of time trying to eliminate without success. I could hear the hiss when music was not playing, and somewhat during quiet passages, but it was not noticeable when music was playing at volume.

I now have a Hegel H90 with the same speakers and cables. All is dead quiet. The hiss that was endemic to the S300 is gone. But I never found the S300 hiss to be so loud that I had concern for the health of my speakers. It was nothing like that. If you’re experiencing loud hiss, give PS Audio a call. They are super helpful.

That noise is mostly coming from either high frequency oscilation or switching diodes in the power supply. It is the exact reason I build my own power amps, in which I supplied VERY regulated power to the pre stages and only “power” power to the last stage. The reason you are able to hear it is that your tweeters are able to reproduce it, because they are simply just good enough. So… Been there, done that, solved it…

my S300 is dead quiet - maybe contact PSA about your unit

What is feeding the S300s?