Setting up a new system - need help please!

I am very fortunate to be setting a brand new hifi system for my office. It’s about 16’x16’. Just bought the Stellar GCD and S300 and I’m waiting for it to arrive. I am a professional church musician, so I have the luxury of listening to music at reference levels as part of my occupation. I have a pair of Klipsch 610f speakers, but my experience with them tells me that they are not going to work well in my situation.

I am having a very hard time deciding what speakers to buy. Needs to be able to be near the wall, I’m thinking bookshelf with good near field capabilities. LS50s? Seems like the Q150s are pretty good value? Does anyone have any good standmounts that they know work well with S300?

Thanks!

1 Like

Howdy @matthew.vanover!

What sort of budget are you working with for your speakers?

Well, the LS50’s are about 1,300 right now. That’s probably my upper limit at this point. But I don’t mind to spend less if there is a good speaker that fits my situation. Thanks for replying back so quick!

1 Like

LS50s are pretty damn hard to beat. Goldear Aon 3s are also quite good, and should be a little more flexible when it comes to placement since they use passive radiators on each side rather than a rear port.

If you don’t mind buying used, these would also be a great pair of speakers.

I didn’t know about Music Room. Um, I know what I am doing all night! Haha! Thanks!

1 Like

If you hadn’t purchased your amp, the active LS50’s would have ben nice I think for an office. If you listen to organ music, you might need a subwoofer.

The Music Room is great! They have a seemingly never-ending rotation of excellent used gear. They’re friendly folks, too.

I’ll second Yann when it comes to the sub. If you plan on listening to a fair bit of organ music, a subwoofer will come in handy.