Shunyata NR cables for DSD DAC?

I‘m about to add a separate power supply for the analog board of my DSD. Which means adding another power cable to my system.
I’m wondering if anyone has any experience in using the Shunyata NR (noise reduction) line (V1 or V2) with the DSD? Either for the internal power supply or for the separate digital and analog board.
Where would an NR (theoretically) be best applied? Any other comments, ideas, recommendations? Thanks!

I have no experience with the DSD but I can report that even a DAC like my Mola Mola Tambaqui responds significantly to power cables. Currently, I use a Delta NR v2 but have also tried the Belden BAV power cord.

In my system, I preferred the Shunyata but the BAV cord was really good for 1/7th of the cost.

3 Likes

Thanks! Do you think your preference for the Shunyata is related to the noise reduction capability - or other factors?

1 Like

That’s a good question. It might be a synergy thing. My Focals are fairly forward-sounding in the midrange. My experience is that the Delta NR v2 seems more refined, whereas the Belden was big/bold/deep but also more forward in the midrange. Neither solution is bad. The difference isn’t subtle in my setup, but I can’t say one is clearly better than the other, just different.

Note - I also run the Denali 6000 V2 power conditioner, Alpha V2 on my amp and Delta V2 on my preamp, Sigma v2 on the power distributor.

Speaker cable is Iconoclast SPTPC, interconnects are Kimber Select and Iconoclast 4x4 XLRs.

2 Likes

I started with a Delta NR and moved up to the Sigma and felt it was a lot better for the DAC then the Delta. Eventually I purchased ungodly expensive power cables and they are better still. Be careful you could end up like me.

3 Likes