Solution for gapless playback with a mobile phone controler?

Hello,

i use a windows PC as music server (upnp) connected to my PWD via ethernet LAN.

I would like to control my music library through a mobile phone device, i don’t know yet which model to own.

I hesitate between an android and windows mobile.

My question is:

- What solution to play gapless from a windows mobile phone to the renderer PWD?

- Same question with android mobile phone?

Thanks for your help.

Fabien

Please no… :open_mouth: Not Windoze Mobile! :smiley:

I have no experience with windoze mobile, but Win 8 is ugly as sin! That and I dislike supporting the one thing in the universe that even The Borg fear. It’s bad enough that I run Windoze in my computers, I see no need to buy any more Micro$oft products than necessary. Just one (of millions) personal opinion here. That, and I have no idea what music controller software is available for Windoze Mobile. Whatever is there is unlikely to have the maturity of the Android and iOS apps.

Seriously, my preference for mobile devices is Android. I find it to be reliable and there are plenty of apps for any purpose, including music controllers. There is an excellent JRiver controller for Android - Gizmo. As soon as WaveStream is available JRiver is likely to be the preferred source for the PWD/Bridge and Gizmo appears to be one of the better controllers for it.

If you prefer Apple products there are a number of good music controllers available for the iOS platform. These include JRemote (excellent) and MonkeyMote.

You are not going to get gapless playback through the Bridge using UPnP - at least not any time in the foreseeable future. Still, if you want to use UPnP there are good UPnP controllers for both Android and iOS. For Android I like BubbleUPnP. For iOS I still like eLyric controller.