Speaker time alignment video

Hi @Chris_Brunhaver

Great video. The video description reads “Time aligned speakers were once all the rage. PS speaker engineer Chris Brunhaver explains why they don’t work and never did.”

Should that be updated to mention passive crossovers?

I think people at Dynaudio, Genelec, Kii Audio, Dutch & Dutch etc might disagree when it comes to their DSP speakers.

You gently touch on DSP at the end but perhaps should have emphasised more at the start that the bulk of what you were saying applies to passive crossover speakers?

Look forward to more speaker videos from you.

3 Likes

Hi,

Thank you! Yes, that’s a good point. The comments were mostly regarding speakers with passive crossovers, which is 95%+ of the high end audio market.

I’m just getting started with the video stuff and will attempt to be more coherent and simpler in future videos.

Yes, the speakers that you mentioned (and other DSP speaker like Meridian) have high order linear phase crossover or DSP correction.

Dynaudio still does a lot of passive crossover speakers and I believe has notable moved away from 1st order filters to high order in the fairly recent past.

I think that the Kii and Dutch & Dutch are more interesting, not for their phase behavior but because they target a caridioid radiation pattern to a fairly low frequency (each through different means). But that may be an good topic for another video.

A lot of the know how here at PS Audio would lend itself to active speakers but a large chunk of the market is still best served with passive designs, so we are starting basically there (but with an active woofer section to side step some of the box size/efficiency trade-offs).

6 Likes

It would be interesting to see a discussion between Richard Vandersteen and Chris.

4 Likes

@Chris_Brunhaver love the vid dude. I’m an amateur speaker builder so as far as I’m concerned you’re the star at PSA. Those amp and DAC dudes are small potatoes :wink:

1 Like

Hi Chris