There Really is Magic... Somehow

I created a post asking for feedback on the necessity of a preamp, specifically the BHK Signature, to improve SQ over the direct DSD DAC to BHK amp route. I had doubts that adding what is for many a functionally unnecessary component would in some unexplainable way improve SQ. Support for the addition of a preamp was pretty overwhelming.

So I ordered a backordered BHK preamp. I’m not good at waiting. Fortunately, I had in mothballs a passive preamp I got years ago which, at it turns out, has turned out to be a highly rewarding move, and one that makes waiting for a BHK preamp all the more difficult.

The mothballed component is a passive preamp given very high marks over a decade ago by Stereophile. It’s called Sonic Euphoria. It only has wires and switches, very high quality wires by Cardas and Swiss switches. It uses autoformers that can actually provide some passive gain with the volume control.

The Sonic Euphoria is no longer sold. At the time, I cheaped out and did not get one with a remote or balanced outputs. I regret doing that. I had to pull out of mothballs RCA cables by Audioquest and Cardas as well to make it work.

I did not expect much, but given the overwhelming responses in this forum from members who had added a preamp, I was curious to see if a high quality passive preamp would improve SQ at all. After all, what can just a bunch of wires and switches really do to SQ?

It turns out a lot. I’m damned if it didn’t improve SQ. If the BHK preamp, when I get it, sounds even just as good as the Sonic Euphoria, I’ll eagerly join the ranks of the preamp believers and make Paul a richer man. I’m already halfway there.