Turntable upgrade advice

Hi all-

I’m a newbie audiophile looking to upgrade from my current turntable, the AT LP120.

I’m also the proud owner of a new Sprout 100, which is powering Elac debut 6.2’s.

The top of my budget is $500. I’d appreciate any advice on the best quality upgrade in this range, and of course which TT would sound best with my set up. Obv, I’m want a clean table without the unnecessary pre amp and usb my current one has.

Thanks in advance!

Greg

Rega makes a good one at that price I believe.

3 Likes

I second that. I bought my son a Rega P2 for his birthday - it‘s a great turntable (if you are up to a belt driven TT). It sound phenomenal, has a good build quality, and can be upgraded with a better system over time.

An alternative path could be e.g. looking for a good used Technics SL1200 (direct drive). There SQ is underrated and these are great machines.

1 Like

I’m with boeuf on the Rega. Project also makes a few nice lower priced ones. The Rega could be an “all-in-one” solution with one of their factory installed cartridges.

Rega or Project, for sure.

Funny the Rega is the exact turntable I’m looking at… but I was focusing on the Rega Plenar 1 (I know the differences between that one and the 2), is that also a good option in your opinions? And thanks for the replies/raffirming my instincts!

Yes.

1 Like

Quick follow up - it looks like the main competition for the Rega P1 is the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon. Any thoughts on how the two compare and which is better?

Fluance RT-85 is pretty awesome at that price range.

I lean to the Rega as the Project tone arm tends to be a little wonky. Rega is known for their tonearms. Their moving magnet phono cartridges, well that’s another matter.

Thanks for the suggestion on the Fluance … it gets great reviews and has that stock Ortofon Blue cart…

1 Like