USB Connection Probs

Hey folks.

I got my KS Backer Sprout a few weeks ago. My little Xmas bundle of joy.

I’ll admit, I am an audiophile newbie, so be patient…

I am having problems connecting my Mac to the USB input. The instructions say just plug it in and it works, which is generally how everything works with Apple products. I am running OS X 10.10. The latest iTunes and everything is updated. I am sure there is some super basic setting I am not seeing, but any help getting the USB to work would be great.

Also, will USB sound any better than BT? Does it really matter how you connect to it?

Thanks!

Phil.

Phil:

After you connect your Mac via USB, open the “System Preferences” (under the Apple Shaped Menu Bar) and select “Sound”. There are three top menu choices (“Sound Effects”, “Output”, “Input”). Select “Output”. From the menu selection select “XMOS USB 2.0 Audio Out” instead of “Internal Speakers”. You should now hear your iTunes via the Sprout (Assuming you have selected “Digital” on the Sprout’s input knob). If you want to further configure the Mac, go into “Applications/Utilities” and open “Audio MIDI Setup” utility application but that shouldn’t be necessary if you just want to get started.

Generally the highest quality digital sound will come from either the SPDIF Coax connector or the USB. Bluetooth bandwidth is quite limited. You might not notice the difference at first but with continued listening you will notice that CD quality or better source material sounds better over the USB or the Coax connector.

Good luck

/Andy