What will the role of software be in high-end audio?

Hi all! I’d like to share some thoughts of mine with you, that I’ve been thinking for the past few months. After I got such a nice welcome to the forum with my previous (first) message, I feel this is safe enough place to share and discuss these kind thoughts as well.

First and foremost, let me emphasize that my aim is not to downplay anyone’s profession, job, accomplishments or anything like that with this writing. I appreaciate all the positive energy that is on this forum, and what engineers or other employees of audio companies put every day into their craft, and thus make the lives of us, the listeners, better. I’ve just used quite direct language in this post to try to get my thoughts communicated, which is not always the easiest thing to do on one’s non-native language :slight_smile:

Background: I’m a software developer by profession, and have been in the field now for twenty years. First as a freelancer (during my teenage years), and now 12 years as an employee of various software consultancies / agengies. I’ve had the privilege to work on many personally meaningful projects, such as delivering e-books via mobile phones to poor countries or helping EU politicians to advance European data strategy (CLOUD Act, I’m looking at you). My current employer is a multinational consultancy, with a nice portfolio of high profile European companies as clients. As much as I have enjoyed all those ventures, and felt accomplisment, none of the projects I’ve stumbled upon have really touched yet anything that I’m really passionate about. And one of those things is audio.

So, some time ago I started this thought process with a naïve question in my mind: Could I someday land a job in high-end audio? So I started to think and look around, what is happening.