Best Streamer for GCD?

Later this year I plan on upgrading my DAC / AMP combo to the GCD / M700 set. I currently use a Bluesound Node2i for streaming. I definitely noticed a sound quality difference from the Sonos Connect I used to own so I am a not a believer in the bits are bits philosophy. That being said, I was wondering if anyone has had experience in upgrading from the Bluesound, or how the Bluesound synergizes with the GCD. The next step up would be something by the Auralic brand I guess? But I just wonder how much improvement there is for getting a $2,000 streamer vs a $500 one.

I was looking at Darko Audio’s list of recommended products for my next potential streamer upgrade.

Thanks for any input.

I have some experience with the Bluesound Node 2i and I have a SGCD and S300. The SGCD is pretty amazing and the feature set of the Bluesound is hard to beat.

I wouldn’t hesitate keeping the Bluesound (I’m considering getting one myself). You could easily A/B the digital out with the analog out of the Bluesound to decide which is best. Without having done so myself, I’d wager a good deal of money that the Bluesound as a transport, coax out into he SGCD is the best arrangement (letting the SGCD do the DA conversation, in other words). For the money, this would be hard to beat.

A number of customers run a Bluesound into their Gain Cell and love it. For the most part, people love the U.I. but mention it leaves a little to be desired as far as sound goes. I’ve also been receiving a lot of positive feedback regarding the Aurender N10.

I stopped by the Auralic room at AXPONA recently and was extremely pleased by the sound. I didn’t have much time to do a proper demo, but liked what I heard.

There’s also the MicroRendu/ UltraRendu route…

I have the GCD/M700 combo that I use with the Sonos connect. I have toyed with the idea of upgrading the streamer; probably to the Bluesound Node 2i. Curious to hear what your sense of the difference is between the two.