CD transport to Sprout 100

Hello, I just got a Sprout 100 and I am very happy with it. Now I want to buy a CD player and I thought, since the sprout already has a great DAC, headphone output and everything else, maybe a cd transport would do a nice job. I was thinking about Cambridge Audio CXC V2, what do you think? Please advise, I am new to hi-fi and I would really appreciate some suggestion.
Thanks
Matteo (from Italy)

1 Like

Hey Matteo, glad to hear you’re enjoying the Sprout100 thus far! I think that Cambridge transport would do really well with the Sprout100. I don’t have much first hand experience, but a number of customers have given their transports high praise. I would also check out Marantz as well. They’ve been in the game for a long time and make some great CD players at a very reasonable price. Though most of them have analog out, they still work really well just used for digital output.

You would get much better value ripping your CDs to a computer you already own, and then sending the digital output to the Sprout’s DAC on its digital input. For $100 more than the Cambridge ($599 US) you could buy a Mac Mini and get something much more capable and flexible. I rip all my CDs to my iMac, and use Audirvana to output them via USB cable to my Sprout100. Fantastic sound quality, and so convenient. Audirvana has an app that I use to control my music via my iPad, plus Audirvana integrates Qobuz and Tidal in the same window so you can alternate between your ripped CDs and streamed music from those services in just seconds.

The Sprout100 is fantastic, you’re going to love it more and more the longer you own it!

2 Likes