Debating I2S cables

I have read a few threads, but wanted to ask since we are already in mid Q2 2024. This will be for the DS Mk1, and the Dragon is just out of reach ATM, been thinking about either the RAL or used Firebird 48 in a 1.25M length. 1M might work but bend radius could be an issue.

Does the RAL bridge the gap between the Firebird and Dragon, or the other way around?

All input appreciated

The RAL is a good place to be. The Dragon a bit better. I have no experience with a Firebird. The RAL is so not suffering. If I unplugged my Dragon and switched to my RAL I would still be very happy.

2 Likes

Second vote for RAL. Runner up to the AQ Dragon. Best value at ~$450 used. AQ Firebird and Tubulus has some traction here but have not heard them.

1 Like

I am using Dragon but I had a Firebird before when I needed both to run different sources. If my memory serves me right, they have the same level of detail and frequency extensions. However, Dragon sounded more relaxed with a bit deeper soundstage. Otherwise they have the same sound signature.

2 Likes

Thanks for the input…I had started with a spare AQ Forest (older gen) and the DS sounded very good, but have discovered from the forums there’s alot to be heard with better HDMI cables with I2S.

I then removed my Vodka from the TV and that did increase resolution but seemed a tad bright, so I was reluctant to blindly purchase higher priced silver cables without asking.

I haven’t tried my AQ carbon yet but want to reach higher up as I hear the carbon is just ok.

1 Like

When the Matrix was the hottest upgrade on this forum, I tried a bunch of HDMI cables. My top three are 1) RAL, 2) WW Platinum 7 and 3) AQ Vodka 48. I have never heard the AQ Dragon.

3 Likes

There’s no good reason for I²S. Save your money.

Controversy!

Now back to espresso.

2 Likes

Other than streaming DSD bits from a transport without breaking SONY’s shhait and getting sued :stuck_out_tongue: