Distance of speakers from wall behind them

I had thought I heard Paul say 4 feet to place speakers from the wall behind them.

This article says no more than 60cm (2 feet).

how do you guys have yours placed relative to the wall behind them?

Thank you -I’m sure this has been covered before

I would think it certainly would depend on the speakers, the room, your frequency balance taste, etc.

In my two systems with speakers (both are Decware HR-1) in two rooms. . . one are about 20" from the wall, the other about 25". . . . I can get a more amazing soundstage moving them further into the room (when my wife is not around) but I lose bass weight.

4 Likes

There is no “one size fits all” on this. My speakers are 7 feet from the wall behind.

4 Likes

Thanks
Mine about 4 feet now
Do u measure from front of speaker ?

1 Like

I have subs x 2
Would think that would help compensate for loss of bass from having them further out into room

1 Like

Could be. I have very little experience with subs, have never felt the need for ultra low bass, it’s mid bass and low bass that I feel the loss for. Experiment and see what sounds best, your ears will tell you.

My measurements were from the rear of the speaker.

Bingo.
You can achieve better imaging with the main speakers further out and not suffer bass loss with the 2 subs located where you like their sound.
And yes, my measuring is from the front face of the tweeters.

2 Likes

However far the distance you place from the wall behind the speakers… the real goal is to get a precise distance from the front speaker baffle to your ears…always measure from the front baffle to your ears as close as possible (I use a laser ) because most room boundary’s are not square…The best possible imaging will result by following this rule of placement !

1 Like

This is an infinitely complex subject that will change your sound more than cable or equipment changes IMO. I would research this:

WASP(Wilson Audio Setup Procedure)