Help! Damaged Sprout!

Hi, i’m a young designer from Barcelona. Since the kickstarter campaign, I always wanted a Ps Sprout.
After a year saving money, i finally got mine at home.

I thought I ordered an european 220v version of Sprout, because it shipped from Belgium, but I didn’t check it, everything looked so simple and nice, I followed the first pages of the instructions manual, i connected in all the inputs and plugged it in, my home lights wiggled and it smelled strange, sprout never turned on.

I’m not really into electronics, but I can tell there is probably something burned.

Is it totally useless? I’m freaking out right now. One year savings thrown to the garbage…?cry

Welcome to the forum. We all love getting new audio gear so we understand your feelings when something like this happens!

Aren’t the electric plugs used in Europe a different shape than those in the US? So if you could just go and plug it into your house wiring, that means it should be a 220 volt unit. And if it came from Belgium it ought to be 220. Sounds like it was defective in manufacturing and you should be able to return it for a refund.

If it was set for 120 and you plugged it into 230, it’s likely toasted. I am sorry about that. Can you ask for a refund? Did you buy it from a private party?

Thanks a lot for your replies, it came with american plug, I just used a basic EU converter, it was quite obvious for me because I bought it from an american brand, my mac is also american, and I use it in Spain, so I didn’t even think about that…

I bought it from your page on Amazon, sent by Amazon Export Sales LL. so not really sure from where it came, when I was tracking my package the first notice I had was, shipped from Belgium. Right now checking on your amazon page I can see you are out of stock, which worries me a bit more…frown

Paul I believe SPROUT does not have fuse? If not I know it’s ruined for sure.

thanks a lot for your time and consideration.