MacAir to PWD II via USB, not sounding very good...

I’ll admit, am a slow adopter of computer audio but having been a very satisfied owner of a PWT/PWDII combo for years, I figured it was time to try it. I’ve no problem with streaming on bluetooth speakers, or using my laptop as a source of music at work, but at home, I have higher standards. Anyway, last weekend I started playing around with my 2014 Macair, connecting it to the PWD II via USB (generic cable) and was surprised at how poor it sounded. No, am not being audio-snobby, it just sounds so much more muffled and flat than a CD on the PWT or vinyl. Clearly something is not right so I set about learning and adjusting.

So far, I’ve ripped music in AIFF, via iTunes, chosen the PWD II as the output from the sound prefs panel, set the Audio Midi to various settings to see if that helps (it does, but not much) but the sound is mediocre and far inferior to CD. So, am left with a couple of thoughts.

1. Could be iTunes is crap and I need another player to deliver the signal to the PWD. I accept there are better options but how bad can iTunes really be in this application? I’ve compared iTunes to VOX at work and thought the difference was subtle.

2. Maybe the generic USB cable is holding me back? Again, I believe cables matter but I’ve never heard a cable be that dull.

3. There’s some software setting I am not getting right but I can’t fathom what it would be having checked the iTunes import settings, the Midi, and the various filters on the PWD.

At this point I’m close to just saying, ‘forget it’ to the idea of laptop via USB to the PS Audio DAC but am curious as to what the root cause could be here. Again, this is not a case of the sound being slightly off, it’s clearly not close to the quality of any other way I play music through the system. What gives? Thanks for any insights …figured if anyone would know it would be this group.