PWT, Is it worth buying it second-hand today?

Hello forum, I am looking for help in solving a dilemma.
I think this machine is now at least 10 years old, but from what I read it was very good and still has relatively high quotations. So I ask the experts, is it worth venturing to buy one (obviously in a good shape) or is it a big risk? (limited lifespan, spare parts such as the driver no longer provable etc,).
I have no experience of the PS Audio world: I leave the hard judgment to the experts.
a warm greeting

1 Like

Welcome, @giubeca !

I have a PWT. It continues to work wonderfully well. While I have not needed to do so, the drive mechanism is straight forward to replace if it fails.

1 Like

I too have a PWT that works perfectly and sounds great. If you can get one at a good price grab it. I also have a PST and use both regularly!

1 Like

Hi Elk, thanks for your answer; where could I find the right drive mechanism? If I decide to buy the PWT I think I would have one mechanism spare for the future.

It is difficult to know which dvd rom drive you need until to get the PWT and look inside to see whether you need an IDE drive or an SATA drive. The reason being the earlier PWTs used IDE connections. The ones a little later supports either IDE or SATA. The latest ones only support SATA. You do not want to by a drive that you cannot use in the PWT that you end up with.

I’ve had mine since the first year they were out, not even sure when that was. Seems like at least ten years. Still working flawlessly. I had to swap out the drive on or about year five, but very simple process. Combined with a good i2s cable and it doesn’t get any better. Every streaming device I have tried over the years always comes up well short. One of those few things they will have to pry out of my cold dead hands.

3 Likes

Is there somewhere an indication of serial numbers telling which ones has the IDE and which ones the SATA drive?