Question about heat-shrink tubing

I have an older power cord that needs a little attention. The heat-shrink tubing has pulled away from the outer sleeve, exposing the insulated wires. The only option I think I have, is to remove the plug, then replace the heat-shrink tubing, then reinstall the plug. Was wondering though, if it’s possible to slice the tubing, in order to avoid removing the plug, then heat weld the seam as I’m heat-shrinking the tubing. I’ve never worked with heat-shrink tubing before. Trying to avoid having to remove the plug

Would you mind posting a pic? That will be helpful to understand what you are up against.

If you experiment with a piece of standard heat shrink, you’ll see if you split it, it will not stay joined. However, there is heat shrink that has glue on the inside that “might” work. But, to be honest I don’t thing that will suffice either.

One of problems is, the heat-shrink on one of the two identical power cords, is too short, and now the outer sheathing has pulled out, and is unraveling.

1 Like

I think you can purchase 3:1 heat shrink that will fit over that connector and shrink down enough to be tight over the areas that are fraying.

My suggestion, buy some, and test it without putting it around anything. I am pretty sure it will shrink enough for your needs.

1 Like

Thanks, wasn’t aware that that ratio was available. I think that should do the trick.

1 Like

Hope you have a steadier hand than I do. My past attempts at slicing off heat shrink haven’t gone particularly well. It is tricky in my experience slicing off heat shrink while not cutting into what’s underneath it. Pics of your cord after you try this would be fun and informative.

Unless I am missing something in the photo, I wouldn’t remove the existing shrink. I’d cut a piece big enough to overlap the exiting shrink and cover the fraying area plus a bit extra, maybe 5mm or so extra, and call it good.

In the pic, I don’t see damage to the existing shrink.