Sound quality with P12 vs P15 vs P20

What type of sound quality differences can I expect to hear between the Powerplant 12, P15 and P20?

My system (for reference):

Revel F228be
Audioquest William Tell speaker cables
BHK 300 monos with AQ NRG-Z power cables
AQ Water XLRs
BHK Preamp with AQ NRG-Z power cable
Furman Elite 15 PFI with
AQ Tornado power cable

Without even getting into the discussion about sound quality, If you’re going to run BHK 300’s out of a Regenerator, the P20 is the only solution. I have a P5 and my BHK 300’s are out of the wall in a dedicated circuit.

1 Like

Can you elaborate on why? A P12 can handle everything I have without problems from a power perspective.

Also, I have a dedicated 20amp (with 10g wire) for everything I listed, and a second dedicated circuit for my sources.

I’m not a scientist or engineer but why do you think that the small transformer on your P12 can supply enough power to two massive transformers on our BHK 300’s plus all of your ancillary devices? The power reserves on a P12 are no different than an amplifier. If you play at low volume, sure it could work. If you play loud music on speakers that dip into low impedance and have a high demand for watts and most importantly AMP’s! Where is that reserve supply to come from? It’s just physics. The P20 has power reserves and low impedance to power these transients on demand. Your P12 will affect the quality of music at best or start clipping when over driven.

I was told by PS Audio technical support that the P12 is “plenty” powerful for the BHK 300 amps. Also, the numbers work if you look at the specs. Perhaps the headroom of a P15 or P20 could help in situations where the volume is blasting, but my room is small, and I already have the BHK Preamp capped at a max volume of “70,” as that’s where my eardrums began to bleed and the sheetrock started to crumble.