Would it be unwise to connect a pair of RELs to my stereo speakers using 2meter Neutrik cables directly to each speaker’s binding post?

Must I run the Neutrik cables all the way back to my amp? I’m going to look into a pair of 2 meter cables if this is a possibility. Thanks for the input.

If it is a Class D amp then you would almost certainly not be connecting a sub high level input to the output terminals, but between one of them and the chassis. The 3-wire Neutrik cable is supposed to connect to the two active terminals of a stereo amp, with a single ground return, but it seems that you want to use each sub for one channel only. I have no direct experience of doing this, so I can only conjecture that one would connect both of the ‘non-black’ leads to a speaker terminal, and the black one to the other. To a simple non-audiophile this is electrically equivalent to connecting at the amp output apart from the tiny voltage drop across the speaker wires. In some ways it might actually be better because you are sensing what the speaker receives, I will be interested in the response from someone with practical experience. Once again, do not try it if you have a Class D amp.

I wish you would ask REL this question and report back here what they tell you. I have wondered about this myself. I have custom cables made for mine, each positive lead is connected to one banana, and the negative lead to the other. I hook them directly up to my amp and wonder why I couldn’t connect up to the speakers instead. (And yeah, they are Class D amps, the actual Amp designer was standing next to me when I asked him how to hook up my REL subs)

I connect them to my speaker terminal. Too much work running them to the amp. Works fine for me.

1 Like

I did ask REL tech support. I’m still awaiting a response via email which I will post here.

2 Likes