Help: Classical-a primer for the unknowing?

Can anyone recommend a book/online course to become familiar with classical composers? I went to engineering school vice any sort of a liberal arts curriculum but am learning to love classical, and as a result, can’t identify composers to save my life. I simply don’t have the exposure.

I think back to the “educated” officers of WWII and flash back to this scene from Band of Brothers.

I want to know the right answers (I’ll never be an expert, not at this age) and not just the “oh, this was a piece X recommended-doesn’t it sound good on my system?”

Thank you for any advice.

1 Like

There is a book by Phil G. Goulding called “Classical Music - The 50 greatest composers and their 1000 greatest works”, which I enjoyed when I wanted to learn more about classical music pieces. I am a scientist by training and enjoyed the structure of this particular book.

For the past 25 years, I have listened to “Radio Swiss Classic” as background music during working hours. This is a great station for exposure to a range of classical music and despite the relatively low bit rate, the stream sounds quite nice. After a few weeks of listening, names and styles will begin to stick.

Cheers,
Soren

1 Like

Look for “The NPR Guide to Building a Classical CD Collection.” It’s dated, but an excellent primer. I used it when I was learning the major works. An easy read. There is also “The NPR Listener’s Encyclopedia of Classical Music.” I haven’t read it but it’s the same author and publisher. The NPR website also has lots of podcasts and online resources. Enjoy the journey!
Jim