New Melco S100 "Audiophile-Grade" Network Switch Announced

Another interesting piece of kit on the horizon: StereoNET Blurb on the new Melco switch

1 Like

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. £1999 for a switch. Audiophile or not, price makes little sense to me.

2 Likes

Man. More than my integrated amp.

2 Likes

I am glad they didn’t name it “Matrix”.

3 Likes

It is an astounding amount of money for a switch.

2 Likes

I’m not a Network Engineer (but my role as a “Wireless Engineer” is very convincing). What’s coming from your service provider is all that matters. A $7 Shielded CAT-6a cable from Fry’s Electronics or Amazon is no different in performance that a $300 Unobtainium Cable. All I have a cheap $40 NetGear Switch/Router that’s wired to all my audio networking crap. If I could find a nice used Cisco 8 or 16 port switch setup with DHCP, that would be cool one day. That’s as audiophile as anyone needs.

The inside build of these Cisco switches are like Brick Shxthouse ! I very rarely have latency issues with Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon HD Music/Prime. Average incoming data rate measured with Ookla is around 300mb/s. COX is my provider. Twisted pair copper into an apartment complex. Fiber would be better but then, the cable/phone companies decides the data cap depending on what you are willing to pay and what your local Telecom infrastructure looks like.

You know what would be cool and put an end to unnecessary spending on CAT, COAX, and USB cables ? A legitimate BER test on each and every digital link. But something like that would be impractical…or would it (we are “Audiophiles” after all).

When it comes to my Analog Chain. No argument, analog cables matter and I have only one pair of RCA’s in my entire setup (the DAC outputs of my Sony UBP-X1000ES). I run AudioQuest Rocket 33 for the L & R Speakers, Red River RCA’s & XLR’s along with a pair of AudioQuest Mackenzie’s that feed my M700’s.

1 Like