P10 and P5 discontinued?

Over at the Audio Afficionado site there’s an announcement that the P5 & P10 are now discontinued and being replaced in April by DSP 5 & 10 models. True? Paul’s blog post the other day about the P20 seemed to say that applying its new circuitry design to the 5 & 10 were in the planning stages, not already realized. If there are new models already being readied, will there be an upgrade path of any kind?

It is true and this time, unfortunately, there will not be an upgrade path. We have to replace all the internals to make the new ones and that leaves only the chassis the same.

:frowning:

Greg in Mississippi

Bear in mind that PSA does have a very generous trade-in policy.

Yes it does, so I read, although I’ve no experience with the program or seen figures. I’m also aware that the price increases for the new P5 and P10 are going to be 42% and 50%, respectively, according to those posted by the PS Audio forum moderator at Audio Afficionado ($4999 and $7499).

So trading in an existing P5 and upgrading to the new P5 DSD will cost ~$3500, assuming a 30% trade in. That’s like buying the old P5 all over again.

Ouch! I’ll have to wait and assess the reviews to see if I can make that kind of investment.

Another way to look at it is that the current/old P5 is now the most affordable way to get regenerated power for your system…while retaining upgrade options in the future. I just did this and I am loving the improvements.

Yes, that’s how I have to see it, with the caveat that as the market for P5-II or P10-II eventually improves, that for P5-I’s will likely decline. It’s also a consideration of weight. For some reason, I’ve been thinking that the new P10 will weigh less than the current 73 lbs, but that may be my confusing it with something else I saw (wouldn’t be the first time).

FYI: Brand new, existing model, P10s are going to $3K. Deals aren’t that hard to find.

Relevance?