PWD Bridge I Firmware Update Issues - No Bridge now

Hello All,

I am new to PS Audio but a vivid follower of Paul on YouTube. Love him and his videos. They are very informative for audio newbies like me.

I recently purchased a PWD MKII Bridge 1 DAC. I am primarily planning to use it over the network streaming of audio files from my NAS. I am so used it from my Oppo 205. I no longer own CD transports. I have a problem and and a question to ask you guys.

Problem:
I updated my PWD firmware from 2.4.3 to 2.4.6 successfully using the SD card. It is my understanding from the forums is the most recent firmware for PWD with Bridge I is 2.4.6. Anything beyond that is only meant for Bridge II.

It is my understanding that mConnect mControl is recommended method to play music to DAC via bridge. I tried it. But mControl did not recognize the bridge. So I thought I would update the firmware and see. The original owner confirmed that he never used the bridge. The bridge was on 0.2.10 firmware.

And I accessed the Bridge I using it’s IP address to update the firmware to it’s latest (i.e. 0.2.15). It started updating the firmware, but it returned with a failure message stating an error occurred during the firmware update. So I restarted the PWD and used it’s screen to go the bridge input and used the update firmware option there. It look long time but there was no progress. So i restarted it again. This time the PWD stopped showing an input option for the bridge. Bridge somehow disappeared.

I spent quite a bit of time here in the forums looking for options to solve this problem.

1. I tried the disconnect and reconnecting everything, restarting everything (router, DAC, SD Card, Ethernet Connection). No luck.
  2. I tried to update the bridge firmware using both USB and SD cards. The PWD does not seem to update anything.
  3. I tried the rescue USB route. The PWD firmware got updated back to 2.4.3 from 2.4.6. But the bridge did not show up.