Subs & dsp

so i find myself in a probably old debate.i got my maggie .7 speakers in and will be getting subs.keep reading and get more sugestions for rel subs. i was looking at svs sb 3000 with dsp with the possibility of useing rew and microphone if i wanted to go that route. no dsp with rell t/7i and after talking with rel i know why. anyone else kinda struggle with dsp vs trusting your ears with setup and balance. it is pretty close on price between svs and rel. thanks from a new guy.

You’ll get more sub with SVS than Rel for the same money. I used a pair for years with my stand mounted KEF’s.

1 Like

Rels have a great reputation for musicality and speed, how are SVS in this department?

I have no experience with them but I am curious.

I have a pair of SVS SB13-Ultras with upgraded amps from the new 4000 series. Bass is extremely tight and fast with these subs…very musical indeed, with a very attractive bang for the buck.

1 Like

REL Fanboy here.

2 Likes

I also have Magnepan .7’s and I currently have a Cambridge Audio Minx X201 (diminutive little thing) behind each speaker.

Not tons of bass by any stretch, but it’s something.

But as is the way with this stuff, I’m also having an internal REL vs SVS debate. I’d love to hear what things sound like with a more substantial subwoofer.

I think the SVS’s have a pretty liberal demo policy and, depending on where you get your REL’s, probably the same.

When the time comes, who knows… maybe I’ll buy both at the same time and demo them and keep the pair I like.

2 Likes

I feel your struggle, diving into the rabbit hole of subwoofers can be daunting. I have been at this for over 20 years now starting with a cheap passive sub that came with my Sony 5.1 home theater system to now where I have 24" custom designed monsters; there was a lot of learning in-between. Once you get a taste of that sweet bass nirvana you will become an addict too :wink:

For what its worth, here is my opinion: