Coffee Ramblings

A critical part of my listening experience. A Lelit Bianca twin boiler and Eureka Mignon Oro single dose grinder.

No one makes hifi that looks - or tastes - this good.

5 Likes

I waited for this…think we need a coffee thread. I’m quite new in that business but I am :wink:

That is Legit

@elk will kindly move this in due course.

Coffee-philes put audio-philes to shame. I bought my first coffee machine in 2004 because I was fed up with the cost and waste of take-aways going into the office. After a couple of plastic things, got a Rancilio Silvia, perhaps the best selling machine ever, then a Lelit Mara around 2016, which is a heat exchanger, and now this twin boiler. It is feature-rich with a flow control system I’ll have to experiment with, and very pretty. The alternatives are the ECM Syncronika and the Profitec 700, both dual boilers, marginally better made and with more brand value and a slightly higher price tag.

The Oro grinder replaces a standard Mignon that makes a terrible mess, requires you to fill a 250g hopper and leaves stale coffee in the machine for the next grind. This has bellows so you measure our your coffee and every last flake the grind ends up in the pot, that then fits into the filter holder - turn upside down and all the coffee is transferred without any spillage.

1 Like

I am a regional maintenance director for a large retail group and am fortunate to have a shop space available to me to build audio racks, bars, etc.

I put a nice little shop stereo in a while back and the guys were like “yeah that’s nice and all but we need a coffee upgrade”

So, one of the techs got a hold of a single head unit that wasn’t being used and set it up in their shop. It pulls a ridiculously good espresso. I have on occasion left my office and drove to the shop (20 min ride) to partake in this liquid gold…and to tweak and clean the stereo

5 Likes